Skip to main content

Quaker Genealogy

Find it

Find books with Quaker Ref call numbers in the Quaker Archives Research Room (Room 116), Tuesday-Friday, 9am to noon and 2pm to 5pm.

The Research Room contains Quaker genealogical extracts, published family history books, and North Carolina genealogical journals. Ask the docent or librarian for help with Quaker Rare books, microfilm, manuscripts, and family files.

An appointment is recommended for manuscripts or particular meeting minutes. Call (336) 316-2264 or e-mail archives@guilford.edu.

Find Quaker books in Room 117, Hege Library, anytime the library is open.

Find national and international Quaker journals in Room 120.

Books

The best place to start looking for Quaker ancestors is in extracts of monthly meeting minutes (church business, which includes membership changes) and records (births, marriages and deaths). Start in the comprehensive index to William Hinshaw's Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy (affectionately known as "Hinshaw"). The index covers the first six volumes of the Encyclopedia, including older meetings in North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Tennessee, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Ohio, New York and New Jersey. Click the tab "Hinshaw" above for more tips.

Hinshaw, William Wade. INDEX TO Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy. Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1999. Quaker Ref E184.F89 H52 v.1

North Carolina

Hinshaw, William Wade. Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy, Vol. I. Edwards Brothers, Inc., 1936; with Supplement, 1948. Includes meetings in North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and Tennessee. Quaker Ref E184.F89 H5 v.1

Pennsylvania

Hinshaw, William Wade. Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy, Vol. II. Edwards Brothers, Inc., 1938. Quaker Ref E184.F89 H5 v.2

Humphrey, John T. Pennsylvania Births (Chester, Berks, Bucks, Delaware, Lancaster, Montgomery, Philadelphia, and York counties). Humphrey Publications, 1993-1998. Quaker Abstract F157

Various authors. Early Church Records of (Chester, Delaware counties), PA, Vols. I-III. Family Line Publications, 1997-2000. Quaker Abstract F157.D3 L38 1997.

Other books: Bucks, Berks, Lancaster, Montgomery, York and Philadelphia counties, PA.

New York and New Jersey

Hinshaw, William Wade. Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy, Vol. III. Edwards Brothers, Inc., 1940. Quaker Ref E184.F89 H5 v.3

Meldrum, Charlotte D. Early Church Records of Burlington County, NJ, Vols. 1-3. Willow Bend Books, 1994-1996. Quaker Abstract F142.B9 M45

Other books: Cumberland, Gloucester, Monmouth and Salem counties, NJ.

Ohio

Hinshaw, William Wade. Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy, Vols. IV and V. Edwards Brothers, Inc., 1946. Quaker Ref E184.F89 H5 v.4, v.5

Virginia

Hinshaw, William Wade. Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy, Vol. VI. Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1973 (Edwards Brothers, Inc., 1950). Quaker Ref E184.F89 H52 v.6

Putnam, Martha A. Early Quaker Records of Southeast Virginia. Family Line Publications, 1996. Quaker Abstract F185.F89 P87 1996

Bell, James Pinkney. Our Quaker Friends of Ye Olden Time, Being in Part a Transcript of the Minutes Books of Cedar Creek Meeting, Hanover County, and the South River Meeting, Campbell County, Virginia. J. P. Bell, Co., 1905. Quaker Abstract F225.B4 1905

Other books: South River and Goose Creek meetings (Bedford and Campbell counties); Henrico, New Kent and Charles City counties; Cedar Creek (Hanover County); Loudoun and Fairfax counties and Alexandria city, VA.

Indiana

Heiss, Willard. Abstracts of the Records of the Society of Friends in Indiana, Parts 1-6 and Index (Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy, Vol. VII). Indiana Historical Society, 1962-1977. Quaker Ref E184.F89 H52 v.7

Maryland

Peden, Henry C., Jr. Quaker Records of (Baltimore and Harford counties, Northern Maryland, Southern Maryland) Maryland. Willow Bend Books, 1992-2000. Quaker Abstract F190.F89 P42

Wright, F. Edward. Quaker Records of the Eastern Shore of Maryland, 1676-1779. Delmarva Roots, 2001. Quaker Abstract F190.F89 W74 2001

Other books: Anne Arundel (and Howard) County Church Records.

Massachusetts

Hinchman, Lydia S. Early Settlers of Nantucket, Their Associates and Descendants. Ferris & Leach, 1901. Quaker Ref F72.N2 H61

Rhode Island

Roberts, Gary Boyd, editor. Genealogies of Rhode Island Families, from The New England Historical and Genealogical Register, volumes I and II. Genealogical Publishing Co., 1989. Quaker Ref F78.G47 1989

Manuscript Collections

Several manuscript collections contain a wealth of genealogical information, including the Stanley, Beeson, Hill, Piggott-Pickett, Cox and Mendenhall families. Early genealogists also donated their files of many family surnames, including the Edna Harvey Joseph and R.H. Hutchinson collections. Check the binder in the research room for details. 

After Hours

Can't make it to the Research Room during open hours? 

Fill in the backstory - Find meeting (church) histories, yearly meeting minutes, early travel journals, and Quaker history during different eras in the Quaker stacks (Room 117) any time Hege Library is open. 

Search Hinshaw's Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy online through Ancestry.com (click the tabs for more information).