Friends Historical Collection

Visiting the Friends Historical Collection

The Quaker Archives welcomes visitors online and in person. Please note that more specialized services are limited so it is advisable to contact us in advance to insure the resources you are seeking are available. Students and faculty (both from Guilford and other educational institutions, independent researchers, Quaker meeting members, and the general public are encouraged to explore our resources.

Giving Opportunities

The financial resources of Guilford College alone are not sufficient to care for all of the collections of materials it would like to accept and maintain for its Quaker Archives. Collection preservation and services depend to some degree on outside contributions. These may come from individuals, organizations, or other sources.

Financial gifts can be designated for general operations by directing donations to support the Quaker Archives. Donations can also be designated to support a specific endowment:

  • Friends of the Library Quaker Archives Librarian Fund for professional staffing
  • North Carolina Friends HIstorical Society Fund for special projects
  • Milner Fund for purchase of Quaker studies publications

Donations can be made via credit card online or by mailing a check (payable to Guilford College with Quaker Archives in the memo line).

Hours

Research Room Hours

Tuesday through Friday
9 a.m. - noon and 2 - 5 p.m.

*Those wishing to meet with a librarian and/or make use of specific sources are strongly encouraged to make an appointment in advance to guarantee availability.

Manuscripts, archival materials, and rare books, as well as most genealogical resources, are restricted to use during research room hours.  Most Quaker books and periodicals and key college publications are available for consultation in Quaker books (Library 117) whenever the main Hege Library is open.