Friends Historical Collection

Guilford College Theses

Welcome to the Guilford College theses page! Guilford College seniors graduating from the Honors Program, with departmental honors, or to fulfill specific requirements for a major complete a senior thesis prior to graduation. Students completing their Master's of Science of Criminal Justice are required to complete either a thesis or a problem solving practicum. The term "thesis" as used in submission instructions and guidelines refers to any of these capstone requirements regardless of program or degree. This page is here to help you through the steps of submitting a thesis for the archives and to provide access to theses submitted in the past.

Prior to the late 1960s, every graduating senior was required to complete a thesis and specific programs continue to have a thesis requirement. All submitted thesis are maintain in paper format in the College Archives. A growing number are available online. Others are available for consultation in the Quaker Archives Research Room by request. See instructions below for searching theses through JSTOR Forum from anywhere and via Art Stor on campus with  access to those currently available full text online. Additionally, theses written between 1989 and 2009 are included in our library catalog (see WMS Catalog instructions below) so that researchers around the world have the ability to discovery titles in standard library catalog searching.

Finding Guilford Theses Online

Search our full database of theses (5,000+ records) online via Shared Shelf Commons:

Guilford College Thesis Collection
Note that only a small percentage are available full text online at this time. Depending upon permissions granted, some theses not publicly available online may be available via Art Stor for campus users.

Search limited to full text theses available online for campus researchers via Art Stor:

Guilford Thesis Collection (Full Text)

 

Finding Guilford Thesis (Locating Titles in Library WMS Catalog)

Guilford College theses published between 1900 and 1989 are not listed in the Hege Library online catalog. Contact the Friends Historical Collection staff for access to older theses. See Guilford Theses Online instructions above for access to theses available full text online.

Browsing Hege Library’s Online Catalog for Guilford theses published from 1989 to 2010:

  • Type in the subject discipline, the word thesis and Guilford College (example: physics thesis Guilford College). Click on search.
  • On the left, add a filter under library to limit to Guilford College and under database limit to "Worldcat.org"
  • On the left under format, check Thesis/dissertation to restrict to theses.
  • Thesis author, title and year of publication are helpful when requesting use of a thesis only available in paper.
  • Theses submitted in the most recent academic years may not be listed in the online catalog but the majority since 2015 are now available online full text through the "Finding Guilford Theses Online" instructions above.
  • Searches can also be done through the Advanced search for specific author or title if already known.

Theses are housed in the college archives closed stack section of the Friends Historical Collection and made available to researchers for library use upon request (contact archives@guilford.edu).