Hege Library & Learning Technologies

Quaker Archives

Creating educational opportunities through Quaker and College documentary resources.

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT

Winter Break Closure: Due to campus break, the last day in 2022 for research appointments is 12/16. The Quaker Archives is closed for all services 12/23/2022 - 1/2/2023.

Notice to non-campus visitors: Please contact archives@guilford.edu or call 336-316-2264 to verify research needs and visit options as appointment required. Limited remote services provided via email (archives@guilford.edu).

 

Welcome to Guilford College's Quaker Archives (formerly known as the Friends Historical Collection)

  • Unique research experiences for both beginning and advanced researchers as well as student internship and employment options.
  • Acquires, organizes, preserves and makes available, not only to the College but to the wider community of researchers, materials, both published and unpublished, related to both Guilford College and the history of the Religious Society of Friends.
  • Special responsibility for comprehensiveness in documenting and for nurturing research relating to the spiritual, intellectual and cultural heritage of Quakerism in the southeastern United States.
  • National recognition as a resource for anti-slavery research.
  • As the college’s archives, preserves and provides access to college records of enduring value, including both administrative records and campus scholarship.
  • Opportunities for students to curate and reinterpret historical sources connecting Guilford’s historical legacy with larger events and issues remaining relevant in present day.