Friends Historical Collection

Artifacts and Textiles

Guilford's artifact collections include several samplers and representations of needlework. Our three nineteenth century North Carolina samplers are featured online through Digital NC. Those wishing to consult our sampler or other textiles items are asked to make an appointment during our research room hours.
 

Manuscripts Collections

A list of the manuscript collections in the Friends Historical Collection appears on this web site to provide researchers with additional information about our holdings.  Researchers are strongly encouraged to make an appointment with the Friends Historical Collection Librarian in advance if they wish to have access to these materials.  The Friends Historical Collection staff is not able to take on research projects for individuals and does not provide large scale reproduction services for manuscript materials.  The majority of the collections are original materials acquired by the Friends Historical Collection.  Some collections are photocopies or typescripts of original materials held either privately or by other institutions.   Very few of the Friends Historical Collection manuscript holdings are available on-line at this time.  There are links to finding aids and related collections for some entries and additional finding aids will be added as they become available. We also have incoming collection which may be available for consultation by appointment that are not yet listed in this guide.  Questions?  Contact us at archives@guilford.edu.

Manuscript Collections are listed alphabetically by collection name (often the name of an individual or family) at library.guilford.edu/fhc/manuscripts.  Dates listed pertain to the dates of materials in the collection and a brief description is usually provided.  Additional information, such as finding aids and related links, are provided when available. The search box in the upper right corner of the page can be used to search for all instances of a name or word in a collection title but does not search the finding aids or collection details comprehensively.

Images, Audio, and Video Collections

Most non-text collections are not maintained separately except in the case of larger artifact collections. Extensive image collections are included with the College Archives and tbe Manuscripts. Selections are sometimes made available online through exhibit and those seeking particular images or visual representations of topics are asked to contact us in advance of visiting. Digital projects are underway to provide access to our oral history audio collections.

Organizational Records

The largest groups of organizational records we hold are the archives of Guilford College and the archives of North Carolina Yearly Meeting (historically and more recent separate groups). In addition to Quaker meeting records, we also house records for several Quaker founded schools and organizations, including Quaker House of Fayetteville, New Garden Friends School, and Virginia Beach Friends School. Contact us at archives@guilford.edu for additional information.

Quaker Publications and Rare Books

Most publications can be located by searching the Guilford College catalog. Select "Libraries Worldwide" to find publications here as well as libraries elsewhere. Select "Guilford College" if wishing to find sources specifically in the Friends Historical Collection.

  • Quaker books that are available for borrowing with a Guilford College ID are located in Library 117.
  • Some books in Library 117 have a blue label which means they can be accessed anytime but are not available for borrowing.
  • Quaker periodicals (magazine and scholarly journals) are located in the Carnegie Room (current issues) and in LIbrary 117 (selected back issues). Periodicals are available anytime the library is open but do not leave the library.
  • Library 117 is available for research and study whenever Hege Library is open.
  • Quaker Reference books and periodicals are located in the Friends Historical Collection Research Room (Library 116) which has more limited hours and do not leave the library..
  • Quaker Rare and all other Rare Books available for consultation by request. Contact us via e-mail or come to the Research Room (Library 116).

The Friends Historical Collection is updating ways to access our Quaker periodicals collection, both online and in print. Frequently requested items are featured below.

Please contact us at archives@guilford.edu if seeking a particular title or issue. Not all of our periodicals are cataloged at this time so search results may indicated we don't have something (either in print or electronically) when we really do!

Browse currently received print magazines and journals in the library's Carnegie Room (across from the Friends Historical Collection)

Search periodicals (journals and magazines, both online and print) at Guilford: http://guilford.on.worldcat.org/atoztitles#journal

Quaker Records

The Friends Historical Collection is the official depository for the records of North Carolina Yearly Meetings (FUM and Conservative) and their constituent meetings. Researchers can consult these records on site during the research room hours. Older meeting records are also now available via Ancestry.com (see forthcoming guide for more information). William Wade Hinshaw’s Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy, Volume I, is a complete index and abstract to genealogical information in the older records. It is recommended that individuals consult the Hinshaw volume as a first step in researching North Carolina Quaker records.

Records in the Friends Historical Collection (Database searchable by meeting name, county, or state)

(Links to the following coming soon)
Using Hinshaw’s Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy, Volume I
Published Histories and Records of North Carolina Yearly Meeting and Its Constituent Meetings Monthly Meetings
Historical Map of Southern Quakers (1890 map from Stephen B. Weeks, Southern Quakers and Slavery)

The collection serves as the archives for most of the region’s Friends meetings, including NCYM (FUM), NCYM(C), Southern Appalachian Yearly Meeting and Association and several indepedent monthly meetings. In addition to answering specific questions related to the affairs of these meetings, the collection staff assists researchers and writers who are preparing histories of their meetings and communities.

In addition to the organizations listed above, the Friends Historical Collection also houses the archives of Quaker House of Fayetteville, the North Carolina Friends Historical Society, and several other organizations. An appointment should be made in order to consult any of these collections. Contact the Friends Historical Collection for additional information.