Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hege Library & Learning Technologies

Databases & Electronic Resources

Find articles and search for journals by title.

Open Access Collections

 

American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the last 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions. 

Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

The Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today's vibrant, continually unfolding actions. The collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint -- from conservative to anarchist. 

 

 

Open Access Journals

ACS Publishes Twelve Fully Open Access Journals.

A journal of pedagogical theory in rhetoric and composition

An annual journal dedicated to the preservation and publication of innovative, born-digital essays. Each theme-based issue will offer a curated combination of commissioned work, submitted work and "rediscovered" work.

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download.

The Journal of Sport for Development (JSFD) is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal. The Journal’s mission is to advance, examine, and disseminate evidence and best practices for programs and interventions that use sport to promote development, health and/or peace.

Nature Communications is an open access, multidisciplinary journal dedicated to publishing high-quality research in all areas of the biological, health, physical, chemical and Earth sciences. Papers published by the journal aim to represent important advances of significance to specialists within each field.

PLOS publishes a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine.

SAGE Open is a peer-reviewed, "Gold" open access journal from SAGE that publishes original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Articles may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.

SpringerOpen, launched in June 2010, includes Springer’s portfolio of 200+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science.

UNC publishes more than 50 open access journals across a wide variety of disciplines. Reflecting the strengths and missions of constituent institutions, they include international publications, law reviews, creative and literary magazines, and undergraduate research journals.

Wiley Open Access publishes authoritative peer reviewed open access journals across many research disciplines.