The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music by Michael Kennedy (Editor); Joyce Bourne (Editor)Derived from the classic Oxford Dictionary of Music, this is the most authoritative dictionary of music available in paperback. It is a rich mine of information for lovers of music of all periods and styles. Fully revised and updated, the 5th edition of this established reference work contains over 200 new entries, including information on approximately 150 new performers. Written by Michael Kennedy, a renowned authority on classical music, the dictionary includes over 14,000 entries on terms from "allegro" to "zingaro," and on works from "Aida "to "Tosca," as well as instruments and their history, composers, librettists, musicians, singers, and orchestras. It also boasts comprehensive works lists for major composers. It remains the essential reference for music students and teachers, and fascinating reading for all other music enthusiasts.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians by Nicolas SlonimskyContaining more than 15,000 biographies ranging from several lines to eight pages in length, Baker's provides unparalleled coverage of the world's greatest and lesser-known musicians in the uniquely insightful and always meticulous style of lexicographer extraordinaire Nicolas Slonimsky.
Publication Date: 1991-12-01
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin LarkinFirst published in 1992, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music is the largest project ever undertaken for the subject. This authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop.
Publication Date: 2006-11-20
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (Editor); John Tyrrell (Editor)Every one of the first edition's 22,500 articles has been reviewed and revised, with thousands of articles expanded. Previously neglected or under-represented areas have been examined, explored, and explained. Movements and topics once deemed too controversial or too far from the mainstream have been added. And throughout, 6,500 new articles cover more than 5,000 years of music history, instruments, composers, institutions, performers, genres, and more. The New Grove II takes you beyond the customary and familiar into new worlds with extensive, authoritative contributions on non-Western music. From major influences, such as Latin American music, to less-examined contributions, such as Asian, sub-Saharan African, and Pacific Islander, The New Grove II presents the music, theory, instruments, and musicians that have helped to define music around the world.
Sourcebook for Research in Music, Third Edition by Allen ScottSince it was first published in 1993, the Sourcebook for Research in Music has become an invaluable resource in musical scholarship. The balance between depth of content and brevity of format makes it ideal for use as a textbook for students, a reference work for faculty and professional musicians, and as an aid for librarians. The introductory chapter includes a comprehensive list of bibliographical terms with definitions; bibliographic terms in German, French, and Italian; and the plan of the Library of Congress and the Dewey Decimal music classification systems. Integrating helpful commentary to instruct the reader on the scope and usefulness of specific items, this updated and expanded edition accounts for the rapid growth in new editions of standard works, in fields such as ethnomusicology, performance practice, women in music, popular music, education, business, and music technology. These enhancements to its already extensive bibliographies ensures that the Sourcebook will continue to be an indispensable reference for years to come.
The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. Since its original publication in print Taruskin’s landmark study has received universal acclaim and numerous awards.