Service Alert
Hege Library & Learning Technologies
Hege Library & Learning Technologies
Acting Together: Performance and the Creative Transformation of Conflict. Volume II: Building Just and Inclusive Communities by Conflict and Reconciliation in the Contemporary World by
Conflict and Reconciliation in the Contemporary World gives a concise, original and multi-faceted introduction to the study of modern conflict situations. Using eight case- studies, from four continents: Yugoslavia, Israel, Northern Ireland, South Africa, El Salvador, Cambodia, Cyprus and Afghanistan, it includes discussion on: * threatened regional peace and security * cycles of internal discord, population displacement and violence * controversy over causes, progress and resolution * the value of external mediation, enforcement or intervention such as sanctions or "punishments" * means, timing and permanence of reconciliation.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict by 
The Handbook of Conflict Resolution by 
Handbook of Peace and Conflict Studies by
This major new Handbook provides a cutting-edge and transdisciplinary overview of the main issues, debates, state-of-the-art methods, and key concepts in peace and conflict studies today. The fields of peace and conflict studies have grown exponentially since being initiated by Professor Johan Galtung half a century ago. They have forged a transdisciplinary and professional identity distinct from security studies, political science, and international relations. The volume is divided into four sections: understanding and transforming conflict creating peace supporting peace peace across the disciplines. Each section features new essays by distinguished international scholars and professionals working in peace studies and conflict resolution and transformation. Drawing from a wide range of theoretical, methodological, and political positions, the editors and contributors offer topical and enduring approaches to peace and conflict studies. The Handbook of Peace and Conflict Studies will be essential reading for students of peace studies, conflict studies and conflict resolution. It will also be of interest and use to practitioners in conflict resolution and NGOs, as well as policy makers and diplomats.
The Mediation Process by
The Fourth Edition of a seminal work in the field of mediation and conflict resolution For almost thirty years, conflict resolution practitioners, faculty, and students have depended on The Mediation Process as the all-inclusive guide to the discipline. The most comprehensive book written on mediation, this text is perfect for new and experienced conflict managers working in any area of dispute resolution--family, community, employment, business, environmental, public policy multicultural, or international. This is the expert's guide, and the Fourth Edition has been expanded and revised to keep pace with developments in the field. It includes new resources that will promote excellence in mediation and help disputants reach durable agreements and enhance their working relationships. Includes expanded information on the latest approaches for providing mediation assistance Features comprehensive guidelines for selecting the right strategy for both common and unique problems Utilizes updated, contemporary case studies of all types of disputes Offers expanded coverage of the growing field and practice of intercultural and international mediation
Peace by Peaceful Means by
Johan Galtung, one of the founders of modern peace studies, provides a wide-ranging panorama of the ideas, theories and assumptions on which the study of peace is based. The book is organized in four parts, each examining the one of the four major theoretical approaches to peace. The first part covers peace theory, exploring the epistemological assumptions of peace. In Part Two conflict theory is examined with an exploration of nonviolent and creative handling of conflict. Developmental theory is discussed in Part Three, exploring structural violence, particularly in the economic field, together with a consideration of the ways of overcoming that violence. The fourth part is devoted to civilization theory. This involves an exploration of cultural violence focusing on the deeper aspects of cultures. Finally, the threads of these four approaches are drawn together with a focus on peace action - peace by peaceful means.
The Security-Development Nexus by 
Understanding Conflict Resolution by The following databases can help you find articles on your topic:
General Information
Peace & Conflict Studies Specific
Society
Other
Digital Film Streaming and Video Tutorials