LibGuides: Virtual Reference: Environmental Studies

Reference E-Books

Encyclopedia of Theoretical Ecology by Alan Hastings (Editor); Louis Gross (Editor)
ISBN: 9780520951785
Publication Date: 2012-05-31
A Dictionary of Environmental History by Ian Whyte
ISBN: 9780857722201
Publication Date: 2013-05-21
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science by Maurice L. Schwartz
ISBN: 9781423749301
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Environmental Encyclopedia by Marci Bortman
Call Number: Ebook, click link to view.
ISBN: 9780787676995
Publication Date: 2003-12-01

The following databases will help you find articles.

General Information

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Over 8,200 publications are available in this multi-discipline database, with full text for nearly 4,650 of those titles.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Environment & Biology Specific

Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Brings deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology into a single platform where biologists and birders can find comprehensive life history information on birds.
Tiempo Climate Cyberlibrary This link opens in a new window
Access to news of current climate events, science and politics and to the electronic archive of Tiempo, the quarterly bulletin on climate and development
NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service This link opens in a new window
NOAA Fisheries Service is dedicated to the stewardship of living marine resources through science-based conservation and management, and the promotion of healthy ecosystems.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals on topics including agriculture, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.

Medicine

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Other Resources

Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867–1970 This link opens in a new window
Delivers detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in 158 North Carolina towns and cities across a century of change.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
A leading database for the study of art and architecture, this database provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books.