LibGuides: Virtual Reference: Justice and Policy Studies

Reference Works

Global Dimensions of Qualitative Inquiry by Norman K. Denzin (Editor); Michael D. Giardina (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook, click link to view
ISBN: 9781611327182
Publication Date: 2013-04-15
Democracy As Problem Solving by Xavier de Souza Briggs
Call Number: Ebook, click link to view
ISBN: 9780262269292
Publication Date: 2008-07-18
The Pocket Guide to Restorative Justice by Pete Wallis; Barbara Tudor; Chris Slane (Illustrator)
Call Number: Ebook, click link to view
ISBN: 9781846427480
Publication Date: 2007-12-15
Law and Society in the South by John Wertheimer
Call Number: Ebook, click link to view
ISBN: 9780813173313
Publication Date: 2009-01-01

The following databases will help you find articles.

General Information

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Over 8,200 publications are available in this multi-discipline database, with full text for nearly 4,650 of those titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in over 375 core academic journals with back-files lacking only the most recent 3 -5 years.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.

Justice and Policy Studies Specific

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database focuses on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications, and news weeklies.
Military Database This link opens in a new window
Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

Society

Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database provides the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.
Undata This link opens in a new window
Brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point.

Digital Film Streaming and Video Tutorials

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary mediated streaming video service, licensed for classroom use, and viewable on a range of devices and platforms. Please note: Kanopy films without instant access are available upon request. Please fill out Kanopy's Request Form to request reactivation of titles. Only Faculty/staff requests will be considered.
Films on Demand Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos, interviews, historical speeches and newsreels.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.
Data-Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more. Formerly known as ReferenceUSA.

FBI Uniform Crime Reports
Special studies, reports, and monographs prepared using data mined from the UCR’s large database are published each year as well. In addition to these reports, information about the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), answers to general UCR questions, and answers to specific UCR questions are available on this site.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Quick Facts from the Federal Bureau of Prisons
Includes data about federal prison populations, demographics, sentences, and staffing
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
An up-to-date collection of data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.