LibGuides: Virtual Reference: English

Reference E-Books

The following databases will help you find articles.

General Information

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Over 8,200 publications are available in this multi-discipline database, with full text for nearly 4,650 of those titles.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in over 375 core academic journals with back-files lacking only the most recent 3 -5 years.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete is a comprehensive database of humanities content.

Poetry

Faber Poetry Library This link opens in a new window
Find poems written by modern poets such as Wendy Cope, T. S. Eliot, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Tom Paulin, Sylvia Plath and more.
American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century. Indexed from 1600 to 1900.
African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Poems from 1750-1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present.
Twentieth-Century African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
A collection of poetry written by the most important and influential African-American poets of the twentieth century.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
A collection of poetry by poets from 1900 to the present day.
English Poetry This link opens in a new window
Essentially the complete English poetic canon from 600 to 1900. Over 165,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources. Indexed from 600 to 1900.

Literature

EBSCO Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, the Literature Resource Center is the premier resource for information on literary figures.
BBC Streaming Shakespeare Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of 37 BBC production Shakespeare plays.
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. Includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.