Library Policies

Hege Library’s collection development and management policy is grounded in Guilford College’s institutional mission, academic principles, and Quaker-based values.  Accordingly, the Library’s mission states:

In furthering institutional values and academic principles, Hege Library is a cornerstone for teaching, learning, research, and scholarship at Guilford College. The Library leads and partners within its community to foster a culture of scholarly exploration and experimentation, to promote creativity and innovation, and to provide the resources and services that place Guilford at the forefront of liberal education within our global society.

For more information please see the full policy below. 

As the Library strives to fulfill its commitment to building print collections that are intellectually and culturally responsive to Guilford’s experiential learning environment and multiculturalism, librarians are committed to leading the process of carefully analyzing Hege’s physical collections for their revitalization. Related critical aspects of collections management are to consistently develop Guilford’s intellectual resources while continually reviewing existing collections for deaccessioning of materials that are outdated, misleading, biased, inaccurate, and/or harmful.

The practice of collection revitalization involves making evidence-based decisions to remove selected materials from the collection as acquisition of new resources supporting the academic program and Guilford values and academic principles further the vitality and relevance of collections.  Moreover, increasingly, as digital resources become more prevalent and accessible, decisions to remove print materials will be motivated by consideration of the advisability of replacing them in digital formats.  Particular emphasis is placed upon building the collection of digital reference resources.

For more information, please see the full statement below.