Guilford College Art Gallery

Guilford College Permanent Collection Index

African   Anonymous  A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S   T   U   V   W   Y   Z

Spanning more than 4,000 years and five continents, the Permanent Collection has grown
to include more than 1,600 works of art by more than 600 artists.

 

S

 

Alejandro Salcedo '14

(b. 1992)

Untitled vase, 2015, stoneware: thrown, pierced, glazed and painted, 8 x 5 1/4 x 5 1/4 in. 2016.17.1. Gift of Alejandro Salcedo '14 and Ray Knirs '16.

 

Anne Salley

American (20th Century)

Peaches, 1966, serigraph, 18 x 24", 1999.12.10. Gift of Peter Julian in honor of Ruth Julian.

Portia and the Angel, 1965, color woodcut, 17 x 20-3/8", 1999.12.11. Gift of Peter Julian in honor of Ruth Julian.

Somebody's Aunt, 1969, serigraph, 22 x 20", 1999.12.9. Gift of Peter Julian in honor of Ruth Julian.

The Orange Lady, 1968, serigraph, 15 x 11-3/8", 1999.12.8. Gift of Peter Julian in honor of Ruth Julian.

Two Walking, 1962, color woodcut, 10-5/8 x 14-5/8", 1999.12.12. Gift of Peter Julian in honor of Ruth Julian.

 

Melissa Salzman

American (b. 1977)

She's a Beauty Queen, 1997, hand-colored etching, 15 x 11-1/2", 1997.6.1.7. Gift of the Spring 1997 Etching class.

 

Xu San'gen

Paintings of Famous Shanghai School Artists, 1897, ink; paper, 11 x 7 in. 2004.6.9. Gift of Judith and Cyril Harvey.

Paintings of Famous Shanghai School Artists, 1897, ink; paper, 11 x 7 in. 2004.6.9. Gift of Judith and Cyril Harvey.

 

Eric Sandgren

American (20th Century)

Untitled, 1974, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.3.28. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

Edwina Sandys

British (b. 1938)

Still Waters, 1974, lithograph, 23 x 15 1/4", 2008.1.38. Gift from the Collection of Dr. A. Kelly Maness, Jr.

Mariah Sawyer

American (b. 1977)

The Anunciation, 1999, etching on paper, 30 x 24", 2008.1.36. Gift from the Collection of Dr. A. Kelly Maness, Jr.

Waiting for the Second Storm, 1997, etching with aquatint, 12 x 8-1/2", 1997.6.1.9. Gift of the Spring 1997 Etching class.

 

Louis Schanker

American (1903-1981)

Mythical Cock I, 1947, oil on canvas, 32 x 39", 1989.1.30. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

 

Miriam Schapiro

Canadian-born American (b. 1923)

The Twinning of Adam & Eve, 1990, color etching, 30-1/2 x 43-3/4", 1990.2.1. Gift of Guilford College Friends of Choice.

 

Julius Schmidt

American (b. 1923)

Untitled Composition, n.d., bronze, 9h x 5-1/2w x 5-1/2" diam., 1996.7.38. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

 

Georges Schreiber

Belgian-born American (1909-1977)

Haying, n.d., lithograph, 8-5/16 x 13", 1991.10.9. Gift of Richard Z. Smith.

 

Norm Schulman

American (1924 - 2014)

Tide-Pool Nymph, n.d., ceramic, 17" diam., irregular, 1995.18.1. Gift of T. Clyde and Dorothy Collins.

 

Harold Schultz

American (b. 1907)

Forestry Variation, n.d., watercolor, 19 x 27", 1989.1.31. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

Tensio Minisculus, 1965, ink on paper, 22-3/8 x 30-3/4", 1996.7.2. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

 

Aubrey Schwartz

American (b. 1928)

Untitled (flowers), 1966, etching on paper, 4-3/4'' x 3-3/4'', 2005.3.4. Gift of Dr. and Mrs. Melvin D. Hurwitz.

Untitled (Grass and flowers), 1966, etching on paper, 14" x 10",  2005.3.5. Gift of Dr. and Mrs. Melvin D. Hurwitz.

 

John Scott

British (1774-1827)

Aysgarth Forth, n.d., engraving on paper, 7 3/8 x 10 7/8", 2009.1.5. Gift of Richard Z. Smith.

 

Ken Scott

American (20th Century)

Elizabethan Urinalysis, 1972, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.1.25. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

Robert Seaver

American (20th Century)

Untitled, 1974, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.3.22. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

Garfield Seibert

American (1881-1976)

The Road Between, 1957, oil on canvas, 8 x 22", 1989.1.32. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

 

Natalie Sept '06

American (b. 1983)

11:18 a.m., 2006, Oils on canvas, 49 3/4" x 72", 2006.3.2. Purchased by the Office of the President for the Permanent Collection.

11:18 a.m. (Clifton "L.C." Jones), 2006, Oils on canvas, 49 3/4" x 18", 2006.3.2.1. Purchased by the Office of the President for the Permanent Collection.

11:18 a.m. (Ruth Brown), 2006, Oils on canvas, 49 3/4" x 18", 2006.3.2.2. Purchased by the Office of the President for the Permanent Collection. 

11:18 a.m. (Ann Webster), 2006, Oils on canvas, 49 3/4" x 18", 2006.3.3. Purchased by the Office of the President for the Permanent Collection.

11:18 a.m. (Doug Gilmer and Pam Jones), 2006, Oils on canvas, 49 3/4" x 18", 2006.3.4. Purchased by the Office of the President for the Permanent Collection. 

Sharon Jones, 2006, Oils on canvas, 13" x 13", 2006.3.3.a. Purchased by the Office of the President for the Permanent Collection. 

Steve Meade, 2006, Oils on canvas, 9" x 26", 2006.3.3.b. Purchased by the Office of the President for the Permanent Collection. 

Sharon Jones: Hands and Twigs, 2006, Oils on canvas, 18" x 26", 2006.3.3.c. Purchased by the Office of the President for the Permanent Collection. 

Steve Meade: Hands and Hammer, 2006, Oils on Canvas, 30" x 16", 2006.3.3.d. Purchased by the Office of the President for the Permanent Collection.

Will Mosely, 2006, Oils on Canvas, 13" x 13", 2006.3.3.e. Purchased by the Office of the President for the Permanent Collection.

David Petree at the Site, 2006, Oils on Canvas, two canvases, each 13" x 16", 2006.3.3.f and g. Purchased by the Office of the President for the Permanent Collection.

    

Don Sexauer

American (20th Century)

Viet Nam- Canal at Can Tho, 1971, etching with aquatint, 17-1/2 x 23-1/2", 1999.3.4. Gift of Bruce R. Pulliam.

 

Robert Seyfert

American (20th Century)

Untitled, 1974, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.3.7. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

Ben Shahn

American (1898-1969)

Andrew Goodman, 1965, photosilkscreen, 22 x 16-3/4", 1973.1.3. Gift of Arthur and Joanne Bluethenthal.

James Chaney, 1965, photosilkscreen, 22 x 16-3/4", 1973.1.2, Gift of Arthur and Joanne Bluethenthal.

Michael Schwerner, 1965, photosilkscreen, 22 x 16-3/4", 1973.1.1, Gift of Arthur and Joanne Bluethenthal.

Title Unknown (Luther's Credo), n.d., color serigraph, 1999.12.13, Gift of Peter Julian in honor of Ruth Julian.

 

Donald Shambroom

American (20th Century)

White Lights & Whole Hearts, 1972, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.1.6. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

Betty Shandler

American (20th Century)

"30", 1973, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.2.9. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

Frederick Shane

American (1906-1990)

St. Genevieve Ferry, 1946, oil on panel, 12 x 16", 1989.1.34. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

Study for "St. Genevieve Train Ferry", 1946, graphite, 7-1/2 x 9-1/2", 1996.7.10. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

 

Julie Shapiro

American (20th Century)

Untitled, 1975, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.4.19. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

Matthew Shelton

American

Rickon, n.d, mixed media on paper, 45 x 35-1/2", 2004.2.1. Gift of anonymous donor.

 

Roger Shimomura

 Oriental Master Print #15, 1975, silkscreen print; paper, 25 1/2" x 25 1/2", 2005.5.20. Gift of Dr. and Mrs. Melvin D. Hurwitz.

 

Ushio Shinohara

Japanese (b. 1933)

Oiran 2, n.d., color lithograph, 18-1/2 x 18-1/2", 1998.7.23. Gift of Mrs. Dorothy J. Trotman in memory of John F. Trotman.

 

Kenneth Shopen

American (1902-1967)

Untitled Composition, 1952, woodblock relief on paper, 17-1/2 x 12-1/2", 1996.7.71. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

 

Nona Short

American (b. 1936)

Fort Fisher, NC, 1991, photograph, 5 x 11", 1993.9.2. Gift of Mary Jo and Richard C. Bell.

 

Sheridan Simon

American (1947-1994)

1. Untitled, c.1990, color photo/computer print, 13-1/2 x 10-1/2", 1995.2.1. Gift of Rose Simon in deep appreciation of Rex and Pat Adelberger.
2. Untitled, c.1990, color photo/computer print, 13-1/2 x 10-1/2", 1995.2.2. Gift of Rose Simon in deep appreciation of Rex and Pat Adelberger.
3. Untitled, c.1990, color photo/computer print, 13-1/2 x 10-1/2", 1995.2.3. Gift of Rose Simon in deep appreciation of Rex and Pat Adelberger.
4. Untitled, c.1990, color photo/computer print, 13-1/2 x 10-1/2", 1995.2.4. Gift of Rose Simon in deep appreciation of Rex and Pat Adelberger.
5. Untitled, c.1990, color photo/computer print, 13-1/2 x 10-1/2", 1995.2.5. Gift of Rose Simon in deep appreciation of Rex and Pat Adelberger.
6. Untitled, c.1990, color photo/computer print, 13-1/2 x 10-1/2", 1995.2.6. Gift of Rose Simon in deep appreciation of Rex and Pat Adelberger.
7. Untitled, c.1990, color photo/computer print, 13-1/2 x 10-1/2", 1995.2.7. Gift of Rose Simon in deep appreciation of Rex and Pat Adelberger.
8. Untitled, c.1990, color photo/computer print, 13-1/2 x 10-1/2", 1995.2.8. Gift of Rose Simon in deep appreciation of Rex and Pat Adelberger.
9. Untitled, c.1990, color photo/computer print, 13-1/2 x 10-1/2", 1995.2.9. Gift of Rose Simon in deep appreciation of Rex and Pat Adelberger.
10. Untitled, c.1990, color photo/computer print, 13-1/2 x 10-1/2", 1995.2.10. Gift of Rose Simon in deep appreciation of Rex and Pat Adelberger.
11. Untitled, c.1990, color photo/computer print, 13-1/2 x 10-1/2", 1995.2.11. Gift of Rose Simon in deep appreciation of Rex and Pat Adelberger.
12. Untitled, c.1990, color photo/computer print, 13-1/2 x 10-1/2", 1995.2.12. Gift of Rose Simon in deep appreciation of Rex and Pat Adelberger.

 

Art Sinsabaugh

American (1924-1983)

Art Dept. of the University of Illinois, 1961, n.d., photo, 4-1/2 x 19-7/8", 1996.7.111. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

Calendar, 1964, 1964, offset, 16 x 24", 1996.7.130. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

Six Midwestern Chants, 1964, book, 7-5/16 x 21-1/2", 1996.7.129. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

 

Elena Sislo

American (20th Century)

Untitled, 1974, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.3.30. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

Leif Skoglof

American (20th Century)

Untitled, 1975, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.4.28. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

Krysztof Skórczewski

Polish (b. 1947)

Ark, c. 1985, engraving, 11-1/4 x 15-1/2", 1989.4.3. Gift of Charles E. Merrill, Jr.

Gigantamomia, 1988, engraving, 15 x 22", 1989.4.1. Gift of Charles E. Merrill, Jr.

In the Grasses, 1979, engraving, 10-1/2 x 12", 1990.10.1. Gift of Charles E. Merrill, Jr.

Labyrinth, 1990, engraving, 14-1/4 x 22in., 1992.1.3. Gift of Charles E. Merrill, Jr.

Mausoleum, 1989, engraving, 9-3/4 x 14", 1992.1.1. Gift of Charles E. Merrill, Jr.

Potop, 1985, engraving, 14-1/4 x 18-3/4", 1993.7.1. Gift of Charles E. Merrill, Jr.

Tower of Babel, 1983, engraving, 15-1/2 x 21", 1989.4.2. Gift of Charles E. Merrill, Jr.

Tower of Babel III, 1990, engraving, 10-3/26 x 15-3/4", 1992.1.2. Gift of Charles E. Merrill, Jr.

 

Joan Slattery

American (b. 1946)

And God Created Pig, n.d., ceramic, 18-/12h x 19-1/2w x 3/4d", 1996.7.39. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

 

Charles Smith

American (b. 1893)

Turtle Family, n.d., woodcut, 15 x 19-1/2", 1996.7.31. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

 

Richard Z. Smith

American (1918-1999)

Untitled, n.d., clay, 11 1/2 x 4 1/4", 2009.1.8. Gift of Richard Z. Smith.

Untitled, n.d., clay, 2009.1.9. Gift of Richard Z. Smith.

 

Alex Smoot

American (1912 - 2000)

Bostians' Alley - Boy whistling, late 20th C., gelatin silver print, 11 x 13", 2001.2.24.1.
Gift of the Freedman Family Partnership in memory of Alex Smoot and in honor of Adele Wayman.

Bostians' Alley - Father kissing little girl, late 20th C., gelatin silver print, 11 x 13", 2001.2.24.8.
Gift of the Freedman Family Partnership in memory of Alex Smoot and in honor of Adele Wayman.

 

Joan Snyder

American (b. 1940)

Report Card, 1973, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.2.2. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

D. Jack Solomon

American (b. 1933)

Pollux, 1970, oil on canvas, 66 x 84", 1990.1.24. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

 

Lee Chul Soo

A Perfect Vessel, 2001, color woodcut; paper, 37 in. x 25 in. 2004.1.1. Gift of an anonymous donor in honor of Terry Hammond.

 

Raphael Soyer

Russian-born American (1899-1987)

The Seamstress, 1954, lithograph, 12 x 16-3/4", 1986.1.30. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

 

David Spear

American (b. 1937)

Mamie Neugent, 1991, gelatin silver print, 16 x 19-1/4", 1996.2.1. Gift of the artist.

Untitled (Sheep Herder With Cell Phone), 1998, gelatin silver print, 24 x 20" (sheet), 1998.8.1. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Man on Horseback), 1998, gelatin silver print, 18-1/4 x 18-3/8", 1998.8.10. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Girl with Fish), 1998, gelatin silver print, 18-1/8 x 18", 1998.8.11. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled Landscape (Mineral de Posas), 1998, gelatin silver print, 18-1/4 x 18-1/4", 1998.8.12. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (M.), 1998, gelatin silver print, 18-1/8 x 18-1/8", 1998.8.13. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Girl with Dove), 1998, gelatin silver print, 20-1/4 x 17", 1998.8.14. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Fireworks Dance), 1998, gelatin silver print, 18-1/8 x 18", 1998.8.15., Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Toasting at Funeral), 1998, gelatin silver print, 16-7/8 x 19-1/8", 1998.8.16. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (The Old Woman (Ghost), 1998, gelatin silver print, 17-1/4 x 20", 1998.8.17. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Devil Baby with Doll), 1998, gelatin silver print, 17 x 18-5/8", 1998.8.18. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Shadows (Sombras), 1998, gelatin silver print, 17-1/4 x 19", 1998.8.19. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Feet on Root), 1998, gelatin silver print, 17-3/8 x 20-3/8", 1998.8.2. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Mother and Child), 1998, gelatin silver print, 17-11/16 x 21-9/16", 1998.8.20. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Man Getting a Shave), 1998, gelatin silver print, 16-15/16 x 19-1/2", 1998.8.3. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Urban Street Scene), 1998, gelatin silver print, 18-3/8 x 18-3/8", 1998.8.4. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Sleeping Man With Kid in Doorway), 1998, gelatin silver print, 17 x 19-11/16", 1998.8.5. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Caneros), 1998, gelatin silver print, 16-1/2 x 19-5/8", 1998.8.6. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Vagabundos) (Two Men on Bench), 1998, gelatin silver print, 17 x 17-9/16", 1998.8.7. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Last Supper; Women in Procession), 1998, gelatin silver print, 16-1/2 x 20-1/16", 1998.8.8. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Girl with Live Raven), 1998, gelatin silver print, 18 x 18-1/4", 1998.8.9. Gift of Dalton L. McMichael, Sr.

Untitled (Devil Babies w/Flashlight), 1998, gelatin silver print, 17-3/8 x 20-1/8", 1998.9.1. Gift of the artist.

Untitled (Bird Boy), 1998, gelatin silver print, 24 x 20", 1999.9.1. Gift of Lawrence M. and Rosalind F. Willard.

Untitled (Debut), 1998, gelatin silver print, 20 x 24", 1999.9.2. Gift of Lawrence M. and Rosalind F. Willard.

Untitled (Coon/Mamie Neugent), 1988, gelatin silver print. 12-1/4 x 16-1/8", 1999.10.1, Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

Untitled (Lee Neugent w/puppy), 1988, gelatin silver print, 11-7/8 x 15-5/16", 1999.10.10. Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

Untitled (Lee Neugent w/puppy), 1992, gelatin silver print, 12 x 15-3/4", 1999.10.11. Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

Untitled (Lee Neugent w/puppy), 1987, gelatin silver print, 10-1/2 x 15", 1999.10.12. Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

Untitled (Lee Neugent w/puppy), 1990, gelatin silver print, 12 x 15-3/4", 1999.10.13. Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

Untitled (Lee Neugent w/puppy), 1989, gelatin silver print, 11-3/4 x 15-3/4", 1999.10.14.Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

Untitled (Lee Neugent w/puppy), 1987, gelatin silver print, 11-5/8 x 16-1/16", 1999.10.15.Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

Untitled (Lee Neugent w/puppy), 1992, gelatin silver print, 11-5/16 x 16-1/16", 1999.10.2. Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

Untitled (Sherman Smith), 1990, gelatin silver print, 11-1/4 x 16-3/16", 1999.10.3. Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

Untitled (Troy Neugent), 1988, gelatin silver print, 11-7/8 x 15-13/16", 1999.10.4.Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

Untitled (Mamie Neugent), 1987, gelatin silver print, 11-15/16 x 15-11/16", 1999.10.5. Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

Untitled (Lee Neugent at woodpile), 1993, gelatin silver print, 11-7/8 x 11-7/8", 1999.10.6. Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

Untitled (Coon Neugent), 1988, gelatin silver print, 11-15/16 x 15-7/8", 1999.10.7. Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

Untitled (Lee Neugent gets medicine), 1989, gelatin silver print, 12-1/16 x 15-7/8", 1999.10.8. Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

Untitled (Lee Neugent walking in rain), 1988, gelatin silver print, 11-7/8 x 15-3/16", 1999.10.9. Gift of Ples McMichael '63.

 

Jannis Spyropoulos

Greek (1912-1991)

Assini No. 2, 1962, oil on paper, 18-3/4 x 23", 1989.1.35. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

Perasma No. 4, 1963, oil on canvas, 21-3/8 x 25-1/2", 1989.1.36. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.

 

Bryan Stacy

American (21st century)

Release, 2006, relief roll, etching and aquatint on paper, 15 x 11", 2008.6.1.8. Gift of the artist and the art department.  

 

Meredith Stanfill

American

Coat, n.d, Charcoal and graphite on paper, 50 x 38", 2004.3.1, Purchased with funds from Art Appreciation Club.

 

Francoise Steadman

American (20th Century)

Untitled, 1975, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.4.4. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

Joseph Stella

Italian-born American (1877-1946)

Agony, n.d., photograph, 12 x 8-1/2", 1991.7.1. Gift of Alan Pensler ' 74.

Fall Leaves, n.d., natural leaf collage, 5 x 10-1/2", 1991.7.2. Gift of Alan Pensler ' 74.

Figure of Christ, n.d., colored pencil, 13 1/2" x 9 1/8", 2000.6.8. Gift of Alan Pensler '74

Landscape, n.d., pastel, 10-1/2 x 14-1/2", 1991.7.3. Gift of Alan Pensler ' 74.

Untitled (Botanical), n.d., graphite/colored pencil, 8-1/2 x 8-1/2", 1999.13.10. Gift of Jennifer and Alan Pensler ' 74.

Untitled (Head of a woman), n.d., colored pencil, 6 x 4-1/2", 1999.13.3. Gift of Jennifer and Alan Pensler ' 74.

Untitled (Tree trunk), n.d., graphite, 17-1/8 x 11-3/8", 1999.13.4. Gift of Jennifer and Alan Pensler ' 74.

Untitled (Seascape), n.d., crayon, 9-1/8 x 12-3/8", 1999.13.5. Gift of Jennifer and Alan Pensler ' 74.

 

Godfrey Stephens

Canadian (b. 1938)

Untitled (Totem head), 1964, wood, 18-1/4 x 6-3/8", 1990.1.25. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

 

Scott Stephens

American (20th Century)

Untitled, 1975, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.4.23. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

Harry Sternberg

American (1904 - 2001)

Locomotives, c.1930's, etching, 13 x 17", 1986.1.22. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

 

May Stevens

American (b. 1924)

Waiting, 1997, lithograph, 17 x 22", 1999.4.1. Gift of the artist.

 

Madge Stewart

American (20th Century)

Untitled, 1972, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.1.4. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

Gilbert Stone

American (1940-1984)

Counterpoint No. III, 1965, oil on canvas, 79 x 59", 1990.9.1. Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence Weaver.

 

Leana Stormont

American (b. 1974)

Safety's Pen, 1997, etching, 9 x 5-1/2", 1997.6.1.6. Gift of the Spring 1997 Etching class.

 

Nobuo Suga

In Orbit, 1962, woodblock print; paper (fiber product), 31 in. x 19 in. 2005.5.13. Gift of Dr. and Mrs. Melvin D. Hurwitz.

 

Tom Suomalainen

American (b. 1939)

Acrobat, 1985, clay sculpture, 6 x 4 x 4", 2007.6.8. Gift of Tom H. Ray. 

Black Jack and the Beanstalk Candle Stick, 1986, clay sculpture, 9 x 5 1/2 x 5 1/2", 2007.6.7. Gift of Tom H. Ray. 

Brown Block Figure, 1974, stoneware, 29-3/8h x 8-5/8w x 7" diam., irregular, 1990.1.35. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

Demon Stage Box, c.1969-75, stoneware, 12h x 11-1/2w x 6-1/4" diam., irregular, 1986.2.13, Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

English Nanny, c.1981-83, stoneware, 43h x 13-1/2w x 15-3/4" diam., irregular, 1986.2.11.2. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

Feather Face Figure, c.1978-81, stoneware, 27 x 6-3/4" irregular, 1990.1.33. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

Figure, c.1981-83, stoneware, 42h x 12-1/2w x 15-1/2" diam., irregular, 1986.2.11.1. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

Fish handled vase, 1986, clay on sculpture, 15 x 14 x 5 3/4", 2007.6.2. Gift of Tom H. Ray. 

Guardian, 1973, stoneware, 40h x 7-1/4w x 13-1/2" diam., irregular, 1986.2.12.1. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

Guardian, c.1973-75, stoneware, 39-3/4h x 7-1/4w x 16" diam., irregular, 1986.2.12.2. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

Guardian, n.d., stoneware, 41h x 7-1/4w x 15" diam., irregular, 1986.2.12.3. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

The Loose Screw, 1990, stoneware sculpture, 8 x 5 x 5", 2007.6.6.a-c. Gift of Tom H. Ray.

Mr. Rosewater Stage Box, c.1969-75, stoneware, 12-1/2h x 11-3/4w x 6-1/2" diam., irregular, 1986.2.14. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

My Target Missed, c. 1971, sculpted stoneware, 38 x 27 x 8", 2015.1.1. Purchased with proceeds from insurance settlements for "Raised Face Figure" (1990.1.36).

Nesting Egg, 1977, sculpted stoneware, 11 x 6 x 4", 2007.6.4. Gift of Tom H. Ray. 

Pelican and Eggs, 1976, clay ceramics, 10 1/2 x 6 x 4 1/2", 2007.6.3.a.b. Gift of Tom H. Ray. 

Pregnant Pig, n.d., stoneware, 19-1/4h x 6-3/8w x 6-1/2" diam., irregular, 1990.1.34. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

Raised Face Figure, c.1983, stoneware, 31-1/2h x 9-1/2w x 13" diam., irregular, 1990.1.36. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

Ridge-faced Figure, c.1981-83, stoneware, 20-1/2h x 9-1/4w x 6-1/4" diam., irregular, 1986.2.11.3. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

Swan on Pedestal, 1973, stoneware sculpture, 11x 7 x 4", 2007.6.5. Gift of Tom H. Ray.

Standing Man in Hat, 1980, stoneware sculpture, 32 x 10 x 9 1/2", 2010.1.1. Gift of Ira and Ruth Julian. 

Torso with Fish Feet, 1978, clay sculpture, 19 x 7 x 7", 2007.6.1. Gift of Tom H. Ray. 

Untitled, n.d., stoneware, 26 x 17 x 10 in. 2016.12.1. Offered by the artist.  

Winged Figure, c.1975, stoneware, 32-1/2h x 13-1/2w x 12" diam., irregular, 1986.2.10. Gift of Ruth and Ira Julian.

 

Jon Swenson

American (20th Century)

Suckling Pig, 1972, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.1.20. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

Charlotte Sylvest

American (20th Century)

Untitled, 1972, etching, 16 x 20", 1993.10.1.8. Gift of David and Diane Kent.

 

Judith Szarama

American (b. 1940)

Study in Line and Form, n.d., silverpoint, 15-7/8 x 12", 1996.7.11. Gift of Rachel and Allen Weller.