Researching Guilford College

Whether you're citing in MLA, Chicago or APA, Research Documentatation Online provides sample papers that provide examples with each major style.

Publications listed in this guide can be cited using your prefered format (see some options in box below) but need to includes some elements more unique to unpublished archival sources.

Unpublished sources may not have all the elements you are used to including for publications but that doesn't mean you don't include them in you list of works cited.  Citations for an archival items usually include the following:

Collection name (example:  Mary Mendenhall Hobbs Papers)

Repository name and institution (example: Friends Historical Collection, Guilford College)

Repository location (example: Greensboro, N.C.)

You also need to note other details, such as the item name and date, when quoting for pieces within a larger collection.  For example, the author and date of a letter.  Depending upon the particular collection, you may also need to include a series title and/or folder title.

[item], [folder title], [series title (if any)], [collection name], [accession or manuscript number], Friends Historical Collection, Guilford College, Greensboro, N.C.

Online Citation Builder

Creates citations in APA, MLA, Chicago and CSE/CBE

Citation Guides in Print

MLA Style Guide

Gibaldi, Joseph.  MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 6th ed.  New York: MLA, 2003.

Ref LB2369 .G53 2003 c1 (Behind the Reference Desk)

APA Style Guide

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. 6th ed., 2010.
Ref BF76.7 .P83 2010 (Behind the Reference Desk)

Chicago Style Guide

Chicago manual of style. 15th ed. University of Chicago Press, 2003.

Ref Z253 .U69 2003 (Behind the Reference Desk)