What's Happening at Hege!

For December Graduates and/or those completing in Fall 2024:

• Honors Program Theses to be submitted to the Quaker Archives later than December 6, 2024.
• All other theses are due before 12 p.m. (noon) EST on December 10, 2024.

For Spring 2025 Graduates:

• Honors Program Theses to be submitted to the Quaker Archives later than April 15, 2025.
• All other theses are due before 12 p.m. (noon) EST on May 15, 2025.

• Required for all theses: PDF version of final thesis, including cover sheet as first page within a single PDF document. See Appendix A for cover sheet format requirements. Faculty advisors names with title or department/program to be listed on cover page. Check with your advisor to see if they require signatures in addition to the typed names as signature requirements vary. Submit by email attachment to archives@guilford.edu.
   
• Required for all theses: Permission form (see Appendix C) to authorize online access to thesis as a part of the College Archives. This may be submitted as second PDF or photo file attachment sent to archives@guilford.edu.
   
• Other non-required materials (contact archivist for further instructions before submission deadline): Additional components may also be submitted if they cannot be sufficiently included in the PDF submission. If you are submitting additional components, your primary thesis submission (the required PDF file with official cover sheet) should also include an additional components page (see Appendix B).

*Note: Your specific departmental advisor or the Honors Program may have additional requirements separate from those required by the College Archives.

Thesis format and components

• The first page is the cover page and should follow the model illustrated in Appendix A.

  • It is essential that the author's full name be present. This should be your chosen name for academic publication (usually your legal name but may not be in all cases). If your legal name differs from your chosen name, please note on the release form for record keeping purposes. The only name appearing online or visible to others will be your chosen name as presented on the cover sheet.

• The submitted thesis must be an official final version with the names of faculty thesis advisors appearing on the cover page.

• File to be submitted as a single PDF file which includes the front cover page.

• Three-dimensional objects and original physical artwork are not included in the online thesis collection. Those with such a component are asked to submit photographs of the object as part of the PDF digital file.

• PDF version and release form to be submitted to archives@guilford.edu by the deadline. Earlier deadlines may apply, such as the Honors Program requirement. See Appendix C for release form.

• Additional components such as audio visual elements, presentations, programs, and analysis are accepted as appendices to the main text document with advanced arrangement. If so, you must complete an additional components document which includes specifications for any application programs required to open files. Appendix B for additional components page format and required elements.

Guidelines for Access to Theses Collection

Theses submitted since 2015 are included in the institutional repository as PDF documents. Those submitted with online access permissions are made available via Guilford College's JSTOR site at https://www.jstor.org/site/guilford/theses/.

Pre-2021 physical theses are kept in the college archives closed stack section of the Quaker Archives and made available to researchers for library use only upon request. Researchers are asked to respect copyright policy. Theses may not be extensively photocopied without prior written permission of the author unless reproduced for institutional accreditation purposes. Proper citation guidelines should be used when quoting or paraphrasing from a thesis. Access may be provided online via a PDF document as an access surrogate to the printed thesis under these same reproduction restrictions.

Originally approved February 3, 2003; revised 2009, 2015, 2020, and 2022. Current version February 2, 2022.

[TITLE]

[Full Name of Student]

A thesis submitted to the faculty of Guilford College

in partial fulfillment of the requirements for

[name of program (e.g., the Honors Program) or degree]

in [Department or Major]

[Date, i.e. May 1, 2012]

Committee:

________________________________

[name of professor], Chair
[Title and/or Department or Program if not reflected by title]

________________________________

[name of professor]
[Title and/or Department or Program if not reflected by title]
_________________________________

[name of professor]
[Title and/or Department or Program if not reflected by title]

NOTE: This form is NOT required except in some limited circumstances. It is only for those who have an additional component not included as a PDF document or described within. Contact archives@guilford.edu if you have components that might need to utilize this form.

Thesis Title: ___________________________________________________________________________________________

Author:  ______________________________________________________________________________________________

Date of submission: _____________________________________________________________________________________

Brief description of components:
[Example: Images of 21 drawings produced for thesis project and written reflections from digital portfolio reflecting on artistic process.]

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________­­­­­­­­­­­

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Identify hardware and software used to produce the thesis and necessary to access the product submitted: 
[Example: Digication's ePortfolio software using MacOSx version 10.7.5 operating system. DVD player required to view.]

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________­­­­­­­­­­­

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

List of all files submitted (a legible screen shot or typed list to include full filename, date modified, size, and kind):
[Example: about_me.html May 5, 2013 27 KB HTML document]

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Before submitting the thesis to the Quaker Archives, check to be certain the content has properly transferred to the digital medium being submitted. This form must be included with your thesis (the PDF thesis document with the official cover sheet).

Use MS WORD Version for Download

OR

Copy and paste text below to create your own document without using MS Word

I, [full legal student name as it appear on diploma and thesis cover page], as author with the authority to grant copyright permissions for the aforementioned title, hereby authorize Guilford College to digitize, distribute, and archive the following title for nonprofit, educational purposes via the Internet or successive technologies: 

[Full Official Thesis Title, Year]

This is a non-exclusive grant of permissions for online and off-line use for an indefinite term. Off-line uses shall be consistent either, for educational uses, with the terms of U.S. copyright legislation's "fair use" provisions or, by Guilford College, with the maintenance and preservation of an archival copy. Digitization allows Guilford College to generate image-based and text-based versions as appropriate to maintain file access over time and to provide and enhance access using search software.

This grant of permissions prohibits use of the digitized versions for commercial use or profit.

______________________________________
Author Signature

______________________________________
Printed or Typed Name Author

_______________
Date of Signature