General research
Interdisciplinary Research Sites
- Choice Web Reviews URLS
Lists sites selected by Choicemagazine.
- Directory of Scholarly and Professional E-Conferences
Oldest, most authoritative directory of electtronic conferences for faculty and professionals. Includes discussion groups on H-NET.
- Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies, and Table of Contents Services
Developed at the University of Houston, this site is oriented toward scholarly research and does contain some restricted access/commercial resources. Includes a "multidisciplinary " category.
- KnowledgeCite Database
Demonstration database of combined resources, including ERIC, MEDLINE, and others. Integrated theauri, permitting users to enter one subject heading that automatically retrieves similar headings in other databases.
- NewJour
Listings and descriptions of popular, professional, and academic e-journals. Keyword-searchable index and subject listing are available.
- UniGuide academic guide to the Internet
Created or the higher education community, this resource is organized into subject directory.
- University of Waterloo Electronic Library Scholarly Societies Project
Searchable by keyword or subject-browsable resource for worldwide scholarly societies and associations.
- World Lecture Hall
A searchable directory of courses offered by faculty worldwide.
The above information comes from Stacey Kimmel at Lehigh University.
For much of the following subject-specific list I am indebted to Easywriter by Andrea Lunsford and Robert Connors (St. Martin's, 1997), Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age, by Diana Hacker, and to Betty Place (Hege Library).
Art
Biology
Business and Economics
Chemistry
Classics
Geology and Environmental Science
History
Language and Literature
Mathematics
Music
Philosophy
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Religious Studies
Sociology
Theatre Studies
