Service Alert
Hege Library & Learning Technologies
Hege Library & Learning Technologies
Pasquotank – see Symons Creek and Newbegun
Perquimans – see Piney Woods
Location: Union County, S.C.
Timeline: 1778 indenture to Trustees of Quakers of 10 acres on Padgetts Creek (CC and Cane Creek VF).
Survey: MS Russell, Judith, “Padgett’s Creek Quaker Cemetery,” 2010, with tombstone list and summary of deeds (CC and Cane Creek VF).
Whaley, Mrs. E. D. Sr., Union County Cemeteries: Epitaphs of 18th and 19th Century Settlers in Union County, South Carolina and Their Descendants, Greenville, S.C., A Press, 1976, p. 168. Quaker Ref F277 .U5 W4
Other resources at Quaker Archives: Correspondence and research 2008-2012, photos (CC and Cane Creek VF). Photos (Pee Dee CC).
Last known ownership and care: Unknown
Location: 2204 Panther Creek Rd, Asheboro, NC 27205; Grant Township, Randolph County, N.C.
Timeline: Panther Creek was a worship group - not a preparative meeting - associated with Holly Spring MM. "Anthony Rich deeded two acres of land to the Society of Friends in 1876, on which a cemetery and a small meeting house already existed." Hinshaw, Seth B. Friends at Holly Spring, Meeting and Community, Greensboro, N.C.; North Carolina Friends Historical Society, North Carolina Yearly Meeting, Holly Spring Meeting, 1982, p. 114.
Survey: Find A Grave: https://www.findagrave.com/cemetery/2291509/panther-creek-baptist-church-cemetery
Last known ownership and care: Panther Creek Baptist Church
Location: 969 Gurley Dairy Road, Pikeville, Wayne County, NC 27863 (behind the house on the farm road).
Timeline: MS (see below) mentions will of 1845 and subsequent transactions. Burials include members of Nahunta MM.
Survey: MS typed history with names (1974), correspondence (CC).
Find A Grave: https://www.findagrave.com/cemetery/2477674/pearson-lewis-edgerton-gurley-plot
Other resources at Quaker Archives: See also Wayne Co. and Richmond Co. CC folder.
Last known ownership and care: (2004) NCYM
Location: Richmond County, N.C., sometimes historically mentioned as Marlborough County, S.C.
(1985) About five miles south of Rockingham, “a short distance off (to the west) the Old Cheraw Road, which runs parallel to US Hwy 1 and is between US Hwy 1 and the Pee Dee River.” (CC)
Timeline: Pee Dee was a preparative meeting of and sometimes confused with Piney Grove MM. Started 1755 under Cane Creek MM; later under Deep River MM and (under or jointly with) Pee Dee MM. Laid down 1799 (Hinshaw, Weeks).
1775: Deed for two acres on Sandy Branch including burying ground and meeting house to Quakers, 10-3-1775, in then Anson County, Book K, pp 367-368. Pee Dee meetinghouse in Richmond Co. reported badly deteriorated (n.d., before 1833?) (PA, VF). Meeting for Sufferings authorized a committee to sell the house and land in Richmond Co. in 1845, not including the graveyard. Follow-up reports mention deed, not any sale (PA).
Survey: Two stones were readable in the 1980s-90s: Hiram Hailey and Peter Hailey.
Other resources at Quaker Archives: Strickland, Trent, “The Forgotten Quaker Meeting of Richmond County, N.C.,” The Southern Friend, Vol. XXIII, Spring 2001, pp 3-15.
Correspondence with articles and history. Historical marker (2001). Copies and extracts of deeds (CC). History, photos, summary of land transactions (VF). See also Wayne Co. and Richmond Co. CC folder.
Brief article on "Old Quaker Cemetery" in Richmond County, mentioning Haley's ferry and story of buried Revolutionary soldiers, North Carolina Society of Historians, Inc. newsletter, no. 87-01, February 1987, p. 10 (Eleanor Bell Research Collection).
Last known ownership and care: Unknown. In the 1980s through 1999, the Rockingham County Historical Society and Boy Scout Troop 64 had several clean-up days at the cemetery.
Location: 3225 Pilot View Church Rd., Yadkin County, N.C.
Timeline: 1960-1961: property conveyed from NCYM to MM (PA).
Survey: Cemetery Census: (2007) http://cemeterycensus.com/nc/yadk/cem028.htm
Find A Grave: https://www.findagrave.com/cemetery/2251290/pilot-view-friends-meeting-church-cemetery
Other resources at Quaker Archives: Photos of meeting house, meeting history (VF)
Current ownership and care: Active monthly meeting
Location: 3968 NC 268, Ararat, Surry County, NC 27007
Timeline: 1895: 2 and ½ acres to Trustees of NCYM for building a church for Friends, dated 1-18-1895, Surry Co. Book 30, p. 372 (D).
Survey: Cemetery Census: (2006) http://cemeterycensus.com/nc/surr/cem207.htm
Find A Grave: https://www.findagrave.com/cemetery/2216111/pine-hill-friends-meeting-cemetery
Other resources at Quaker Archives: Photos, meeting history (VF).
Current ownership and care: Active monthly meeting
Location: 199 Pine Woods Church Rd., Thomasville, Davidson County, N.C.
Timeline: PM 1791 under Springfield MM (Weeks). Laid down in 1850. Meeting grounds and graveyard sold to Methodist Church (M.E. Church South) in 1920 (Springfield VF).
Survey: Find A Grave: https://www.findagrave.com/cemetery/2304773/pine-woods-united-methodist-church-cemetery
Other resources at Quaker Archives: MS 141, manuscript collection of Ann Benbow, who visited Pine Woods families in 1848. MS 363, Seth and Mary Edith Hinshaw papers, file 4, "Reminiscences of Pine Woods Friends Church" by Minnie Arnold Atkins Edwards.
Current ownership and care: Pine Woods United Methodist Church
Location: 118 Piney Woods Rd., Belvidere, Perquimans County, N.C.
Timeline: Perquimans MM by 1680, called Wells after 1764. Perquimans-Wells divided into Suttons Creek and Piney Woods MM 1794 (Hinshaw). 1705 Old Style/1706 New Style: Deed of 1 acre with house to "Quakers living in Perquimans precinct, Albemarle Co.," dated 11-7-1705/6, recorded [in Perquimans Co.?] Jan. 11, 1705/6. 1744: Deed of 1 acre on SW side of Perquimans River, "close in the fork of Gum Swamp," dated 13 April 1744, recorded 28 May 1744. 1794: Deed of 1 acre and 1 rod for "a meeting place of the people called Quakers" on the SW side of the Perquimans River, dated 12-22-1794, recorded 4-25-1795.
Survey: Find A Grave: https://www.findagrave.com/cemetery/48440/piney-woods-friends-cemetery
Other resources at Quaker Archives: Histories, articles (VF)
Current ownership and care: Active monthly meeting
Location: 1956 Plainfield Church Rd., Siler City, Chatham County, N.C.
Timeline: PM under Spring MM (Weeks). 1915: 1 and ¾ acres plus 15/16 acre for cemetery in Albright Township, Chatham Co. to NCYM, dated 12-3-1915, Chatham Co., Book H.H., p. 238 (D). 1981: approx 3 acres purchased 12-3-1915 by NCYM deeded to MM (PA).
Survey: Mr. and Mrs. L.S. Hornaday, Jr. Piedmont North Carolina Cemeteries, Vol. III (Burlington, NC: 1991). Quaker Ref. BX 7649.P53
Cemetery Census: (list taken from Piedmont North Carolina Cemeteries, 1991) http://cemeterycensus.com/nc/chat/cem012.htm
Find A Grave: https://www.findagrave.com/cemetery/2154311/plainfield-friends-meeting-cemetery
Other resources at Quaker Archives: Photos of meeting house, history (VF)
Current ownership and care: Active monthly meeting
Location: 3673 Hoover Hill Road, Trinity, Randolph County, N.C. 27370
Timeline: PM 1894 under Marlboro MM (Weeks). MM ca. 1906 (minutes).
Survey: Find A Grave: https://www.findagrave.com/cemetery/2238046/poplar-ridge-friends-meeting-cemetery
Cemetery Census: (2010) http://cemeterycensus.com/nc/rand/cem113.htm
Other resources at Quaker Archives: Photos of meeting house, history (VF)
Current ownership and care: Active monthly meeting
Location: 2449 River Rd., Robbins, Moore County, N.C.
Timeline: Was a PM under Holly Spring (Weeks). MM ca 1907. 1957: property deeded to MM to they could secure a loan. 1978: MM requested deed to their property, referred to Trustees. (PA)
Survey: Parker, Anthony E. A Guide to Moore County Cemeteries (Moore County Historical Association). Quaker Ref F 262.M7 P37
Find A Grave: https://www.findagrave.com/cemetery/2190730/prosperity-friends-meeting-cemetery
Other resources at Quaker Archives: Photos of meeting house, history. (VF)
Current ownership and care: Active monthly meeting
Location: 2054 Providence Church Rd, Randolph County, N.C.
Timeline: Started ca. 1792 under Centre MM (Weeks). MM ca 1912. Deed for 5 acres and 10 poles in then Rowan Co. to trustees for Providence Meeting, dated 1-14-1769. Randolph Co. Book 4, p. 46. (PA)
Survey: Mr. and Mrs. L.S. Hornaday, Jr. Piedmont North Carolina Cemeteries, Vol. IV (Burlington, NC: 1991). Quaker Ref. BX 7649.P53
Reynolds, Paul, Gravestone Records, Providence Friends Meeting Cemetery, Randolph County, North Carolina, 1986 (VF).
Find A Grave: https://www.findagrave.com/cemetery/2182659/providence-cemetery
Other resources at Quaker Archives: Photos of meeting house, article and history (VF).
Current ownership and care: Active monthly meeting